Awards - Web Banner

The Innovator & Entrepreneur Awards banquet is Virginia Tech’s premier celebration of innovation and entrepreneurship. These awards are to honor Virginia Tech students who have demonstrated innovativeness, originality, and entrepreneurial spirit in the development of processes, products, or technologies of commercial potential.

Nominate Here

What are the Awards?

Innovator of the Year – This award is intended to recognize innovation and entrepreneurship that has contributed to the development or commercialization of a new technology. This award, which is open to undergraduate or graduate students, may recognize a student start-up company whose success is a result of entrepreneurial talent, creativity, and energy.

Entrepreneur of the Year – This award recognizes an individual or team who have demonstrated passion, vision, drive and real personal growth as a result of running a business while studying at the University. The judges are less interested in profit and loss and more interested in what a student has taken from the experience (tackling of issues, challenges, and opportunities).

Trailblazer Award – True leaders serve, and true servants lead. This award seeks to award a student who has devoted their time and effort in servant leadership. “By blazing a trail”, the recipient of this award will have made a significant effort to contribute to the community by uniquely addressing a problem or improving a situation.

Game-Changer Award – Game-changers act boldly and decisively in response to challenges. This award is for someone who has made a significant impactful difference within their field and has demonstrated their drive to succeed through excellent work in the classroom.

Schedule of Events

6:30 – 7:30pm – Networking Reception

7:00 – 7:45pm – Dinner

7:45 – 8:15pm – Apex Systems Founder’s Panel

8:15 – 9:00pm – Presentation of Awards

Previous Winners

Apex Systems Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Naming Ceremony and Awards Dinner at the Virginia Tech Moss Arts Center on Thursday, April 23, 2015.